We’ve got a BAPTISM!! Not Just one but TWO!!!

Hey Ya’ll!
So it is apparent by the heading the highlight of the week! This week just as last week has been crazy. Sister Law and I have been going nonstop for the past week and it finally hit me after the baptisms when I got a nasty case of vertigo. That had me sleeping all day! Which is horrid as a missionary, its even worse for the companion. But the things that happened before are pretty exciting and frankly hilarious.
Last week Sister Law and I spent our PDay with the Wakelings. A family in the ward who loves us! They are recent converts and are fantastic missionaries!! All of our progressing investigators are from them. And our 2 new converts are part of their family. We played a lot of games with them and hung out with them all day! It was fantastic!
Tuesday we did our hot chocolate stand. Several of you have asked if it is effective, to which I respond is no, not a single thing we do as missionaries to find people is really effective. We are most effective at finding and baptizing people when we work with the members. But you never know who the Lord has prepared, so we go out and get doors slammed in our faces, and people yelling at us damning us to Hell, or just running away from us, which happens quite frequently. People are sometimes more open to us at the hot chocolate stand out of sheer curiosity, which is good. The openness of people really depends on the week though. Some weeks they are like, “yeah we’ll talk to you for a bit” and other weeks they treat us like we have the plague. We have a lot of fun doing it though. Tuesday night was intensely funny. We were with the Wakelings because we needed to see Renee and Lexi everyday before their baptism. While we were there our other investigator, Justin, was there too. We got talking about transfers and we are all pretty sure the Sister Law will be transferred out. Justin is super snarky and says something along the lines of that can’t happen soon enough. Well Sister Law starts singing the cups song, the part that says you’re gonna miss me when I’m gone. Justin then says “Oh, I like her”. We were getting ready to leave when Justin walks up to sister Law and says “you know, I was talking about the girl who sings the song, not you.” In the blink of an eye, at point blank range, Sister Law throws pass along cards at Justin like they were a ninja star, hits him right below the eye and leaves a mark!! I sat there completely stunned. After a moment, the realization of what she had done began to hit her and she started apologizing profusely. Sister Law had been pretty out of it for most of the day. I even made her take a nap she was so out of it. Apparently it didn’t help. (Justin is a super cool and chill guy so he wasn’t offended at all, he even laughed and joked around with us about it) Sister Law made things worse for herself though. She was given a piece of candy that she did not like and went to spit it out and got something on her hands. She went to wash her hands and thought it would be a good idea to splash water on Kym Wakeling. Kym, who has a very fiery but good natured personality, retaliated ten fold. Realizing the depths of her mistake, Sister Law screamed RUN!!! and bolted to the door with me trailing out after her. That is the fastest we have ever gotten out of their house! I looked back and saw Jimmy holding back Kym, but it didn’t work for long. Soon I heard her chasing after us with a glass filled with water. Thinking wisely, I got out of the way and let my companion pay for the consequence of her choice. She was dosed in water, her coat soaking wet. I could not help but laugh hysterically at the situation. And pretty soon all of us were laughing so hard our sides began to be sore. We all needed that great stress reliever.
Wednesday: We did a lot of finding and decided that we would street contact to Walmart. Sister Law was still pretty out of it and as we were walking, she walked right into a sign. Ironically enough, the sign said wrong way. I made her take another nap. This one, I believe, helped out more. Which is good because we were introduced to a potential investigator. Her name is Brittany and she is Renee’s friend. Brittany is truly prepared to hear the gospel. We are meeting with her tonight and I am praying that it all goes well!
Thursday: Every Thursday we have supper with the Seaboyers and do a Book of Mormon study with them and some of the other members in Canada. These two older ladies always come. Sister Sargfield and Smith. Both are deaf. Brother Seaboyer is a very snarky man and has a very small filter, which his wife yells at him for fairly frequently. This was one of those moments where his filter wasn’t on. Sister Sargfield was saying something about not understanding something. Brother Seaboyer said “its because you’re deaf.” Sister Seaboyer slapped him, because even though its true it isn’t  nice to say. Noticing the commotion Sister Sargfield said “what?”
Brother Seaboyer: “Oh nothing I said something I shouldn’t have.”
Sister Sargfield:”Oh, I don’t know, I didn’t hear you.”
Brother Seaboyer:”It’s cuz you’re deaf”
All of us who did have hearing started laughing, even sister Seaboyer couldn’t help but laugh at this.
Friday. I don’t remember what happened, I guess it wasn’t all that important.
Saturday: The day we have been anticipating and working towards for 5 1/2 months finally arrived! Renne and Lexi were getting baptized!! It was a beautiful day! Filled with the spirit and some crazy stories, as baptisms usually have. We called the sisters who are serving in the area where the baptism was going to be held to fill the font. Faithfully following the instructions from the Bishop, they filled the font. Then, problems started to arise. The lights didn’t turn on and the water was freezing cold. We concluded that it would have been warmer in the lake. Even though they were freezing and had to be dunked twice, the spirit was there and it was so strong! I felt my heart swell as I watched Renee and Lexi go under the water. Tears came to my eyes as the spirit bore powerful witness that this was right and true. I have been truly blessed to experience a baptism so early on in my mission. To feel the love and joy our Heavenly Father has as we make the choice to follow Him and keep His commandments. It has given me the motivation that I have been needing to be able to be the best representative of Him that I can be. It was a very beautiful day.
Sunday: The exhaustion finally hit and I had vertigo.  I slept all of Sunday.
In looking back on my week, I have seen the Lord’s hand in my life so abundantly. All of the moments when I had the opportunity to laugh, and to laugh hard, were blessing from the Lord. They provided me with the break that I needed to continue working as hard as we were this week. The Lord has given me so much strength, I would not have been able to accomplish the things that I needed to with out Him. I know that as we turn our lives to Him and let the light of his gospel enter in, that we will receive of His strength and will be able to accomplish all of the things that he has asked us to do.
I love you all and hope all is going well!
Leave a Reply

